Communities and Justice

Daylight saving

Find out about daylight saving in NSW, and in other states and territories.

When does daylight saving begin and end in NSW?

Daylight saving begins at 2am, Eastern Standard Time on Sunday 1 October 2023. Clocks will be put forward one hour.

Daylight saving ends at 3am, Eastern Daylight Saving Time on Sunday 7 April 2024. Clocks will be put back one hour.

Each year, daylight saving begins at 2am on the first Sunday in October and ends at 3am on the first Sunday in April.

Note that Lord Howe Island is an exception (clocks are put forward and back by 30 minutes).

A clock showing the hands moving from 2am to 3am.
When daylight savings begins, clocks are put forward one hour from 2am to 3am.
A clock showing the hands moving from 3am to 2am.
When daylight savings ends, clocks are put back one hour from 3am to 2am.

Daylight saving in other states and territories 

NSW, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory and Norfolk Island all observe the same period of daylight saving.

Daylight saving is not observed in Queensland, the Northern Territory, Western Australia, Christmas Island or the Cocos (Keeling) Islands.

Last updated:

26 Apr 2024